Tech Tips for Retirees

For retirees interested in learning more, making life easier and staying connected with distant friends and family.

The Health Insurance Challenge

Leave a comment

image courtesy of ddpavumba/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

image courtesy of ddpavumba/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

It’s been a challenging year for me when it comes to health insurance.  Affordable healthcare got off to a rocky start and had many wondering if they would be helped or hurt.  As the dust settled, my healthcare costs went down and my coverage is greatly improved.  Yes, my old plan was one that was canceled, but I can think of no scenario in which I will be hurt.  The on-line registration was a bust on this one though, and I fear it may have damaged the faith in computers of some of my peers.  I hope you picked up your phones and got assistance that way, as did I.

So now I am immediately faced with a new dilemma, as this is the year of my 65th birthday.  Yes, that is right.  I now need to choose a decent Medicare supplement.  As we have just been talking about the cost of retirement, it is fresh in my mind that financial planners state that the biggest portion of their dire predictions about our income needs is based on the continually rising cost of healthcare.  It therefore makes sense to me that my health coverage should be as good as available, within a cost that makes sense.  I am also leaning toward choosing Blue Cross, just because my providers are happiest with their coverage and tell me that they are processing claims much more quickly than in the past.  The website I found most helpful was at medicare.gov.  It explains medicare insurance and helps you decide on a plan.  Any other thoughts out there.  Please comment…we are all ears.

Author: Marci

Having first retired from social work in 2008, I've now had time to work through seasons of all play, and seasons of part-time work, while I figured out how best to make use of my "golden" years. The internet provides so much assistance in finding unlimited ideas related to finances, hobbies, travel and staying healthy, but I soon found my passion in quilting. The vast array of techniques have resulted in seeing inspiration everywhere, and practice is always rewarded with improved skills. Of course, grandchildren and family still get priority, but I see this as a pursuit that will remain interesting into my old age.

Leave a Reply

