Tech Tips for Retirees

For retirees interested in learning more, making life easier and staying connected with distant friends and family.

Getting the Best Use of a Small Smartphone Data Package

Leave a comment

image courtesy of adamr/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

image courtesy of adamr/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Prior to obtaining my first smartphone, I assumed that having limited internet access would be frustrating and lead to overages on my bill. It is now clear to me that, for most seniors, and small data package can be more than adequate. If you have wireless set up at home, any time spent setting up and using apps while connected, does not count against your plan. Likewise, if needing to use an app while you shop, you will usually be able to connect to the system in that store. And when stopping for coffee…well, I’m sure you get the drift. This leaves your data package available for finding maps or an address while on the road, or making on-line reservations, etc. This does mean that you cannot run an app, such as music from Pandora, continuously, or your data will be used. Most phones are able to store a significant amount of music which you can play directly to avoid impacting your bill, but, hey, we still have our MP3 players and CDs, right?

If you still have concerns about using too much data, most phones offer the ability to set limits. My 250 MB plan is set to notify me at 230 MB and cut me off at 240MB (leaving a little buffer, as my company does not guarantee that the phone reading of data usage will always be accurate).

Author: Marci

Having first retired from social work in 2008, I've now had time to work through seasons of all play, and seasons of part-time work, while I figured out how best to make use of my "golden" years. The internet provides so much assistance in finding unlimited ideas related to finances, hobbies, travel and staying healthy, but I soon found my passion in quilting. The vast array of techniques have resulted in seeing inspiration everywhere, and practice is always rewarded with improved skills. Of course, grandchildren and family still get priority, but I see this as a pursuit that will remain interesting into my old age.

Leave a Reply

