Tech Tips for Retirees

For retirees interested in learning more, making life easier and staying connected with distant friends and family.

Shopping Online vs. In The Store

Leave a comment

image courtesy of stock images/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

image courtesy of stock images/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

As online shopping came to be widely accepted there was a time when it appeared that “brick and mortar” stores were going to be in big trouble, and indeed it most likely was a contributing factor to some failures. As time goes by, though, it has become obvious that there is a place for both. There are some legitimate reasons to do a large percentage of our shopping online as we age, if mobility has become an issue. Beyond that scenario, however, there are a number of reasons to shop both ways.

Reasons to shop in the community:

-I like to support my local businesses. They are what keeps my mid-sized city thriving.
-There have been times when I have been disappointed by the quality of an item purchased on line.
-Returns online involve repackaging, a trip to the post office, and often the expense of the return postage.
-Shopping in the community helps to keep us active.

Reasons to shop online:

-The main reason I shop online is to obtain specialty items that aren’t available in my town, such as certain hobby supplies and specialty food items.
-When purchasing a heavy item, such as kit furniture, it is very convenient, and usually free, to have it shipped to my door.
-The reviews provided online are very informative when making a purchase. Instead of viewing an item in the store and then purchasing online, I like to do the reverse. I find an item with great reviews then shop for it locally.

Amazon has captured a large part of the online market and is easy to use. I have enjoyed having an Amazon VISA card, as it earns points with all of my purchases everywhere I shop, and gives me points for my next order. Thus far I have not found it neccessary to join their “Prime” promotion, as it is already quite feasible to put together an order of $35 to qualify for free shipping.

Author: Marci

Having first retired from social work in 2008, I've now had time to work through seasons of all play, and seasons of part-time work, while I figured out how best to make use of my "golden" years. The internet provides so much assistance in finding unlimited ideas related to finances, hobbies, travel and staying healthy, but I soon found my passion in quilting. The vast array of techniques have resulted in seeing inspiration everywhere, and practice is always rewarded with improved skills. Of course, grandchildren and family still get priority, but I see this as a pursuit that will remain interesting into my old age.

Leave a Reply

