Tech Tips for Retirees

For retirees interested in learning more, making life easier and staying connected with distant friends and family.

My Love / Hate Relationship with Technology

Leave a comment

image courtesy of jesadaphorn/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

image courtesy of jesadaphorn/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

A more accurate title for this website might be “Tech Tips for the Technologically Reluctant”. I know, I have professed to be ecstatic over living in this age of the internet, but there are days like today, when I would be happy to give it all a toss.

This morning I powered up my tablet, to find a message from Samsung saying they need to periodically check my password for that device and today is the day. What?! I have owned this device for well over a year with no such message! But I do love my Samsung Galaxy, so I obediently (and a little smugly, I confess) reached for my low tech notebook of passwords. There it was…but was that vertical line the small letter l or the number 1, or a capital I? (Learn from me…never use a 1 in your password, I can’t tell the difference even in type) Needless to say, I was told to go to my e-mail for a fresh password. My patience was a bit thin by this point, but I soldiered on. Unfortunately, I was unable to key in a new password and repeat it, after trying 3 times. Luckily, however, my Samsung just told me to try again later, and allowed me on the internet.

Ah…back to searching for an upcoming flight. Do you think my airline would recognize my account number and password combination. Of course not. And I have both moved and no longer have the same e-mail account listed with them.

Let’s just go for a walk and read a book today.

Author: Marci

Having first retired from social work in 2008, I've now had time to work through seasons of all play, and seasons of part-time work, while I figured out how best to make use of my "golden" years. The internet provides so much assistance in finding unlimited ideas related to finances, hobbies, travel and staying healthy, but I soon found my passion in quilting. The vast array of techniques have resulted in seeing inspiration everywhere, and practice is always rewarded with improved skills. Of course, grandchildren and family still get priority, but I see this as a pursuit that will remain interesting into my old age.

Leave a Reply

