Tech Tips for Retirees

For retirees interested in learning more, making life easier and staying connected with distant friends and family.

Finding My Technological Comfort Zone

Leave a comment

image courtesy of Stuart Miles/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

image courtesy of Stuart Miles/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

We seniors have a different perspective on technology than our predecessors who have grown up steeped in computer technology.

This morning, I breakfasted at Big Boy, where seniors in Michigan tend to gather after the “youngsters” have gone to work. Behind me I heard the waitress kidding with a man who was texting, and then heard his wife comment that she is puzzled by her aversion to electronic devices. She told the waitress that her previous employment was tied to new technology, so she is surprised with her lack of interest now.

The usefulness of technology in our lives is no longer about work related issues. I’m all for anything that simplifies my life, helps me continue to learn and use my mind, shows me new ways to look at my hobbies and keeps me connected to family and friends. But I feel the pain of my restaurant neighbor’s position. There is definitely a learning curve with each new development out there, and we have no interest in needless complications. When researching for relevant material to share here, my head swims with ideas presented for security, storage, interacting between devices and getting the best deals.

My plan for this site, then, will be to try to glean ideas and new technology of use to my peers and to present it in small, easy-to-use doses. User interest will provide a guide, so please comment freely.

Author: Marci

Having first retired from social work in 2008, I've now had time to work through seasons of all play, and seasons of part-time work, while I figured out how best to make use of my "golden" years. The internet provides so much assistance in finding unlimited ideas related to finances, hobbies, travel and staying healthy, but I soon found my passion in quilting. The vast array of techniques have resulted in seeing inspiration everywhere, and practice is always rewarded with improved skills. Of course, grandchildren and family still get priority, but I see this as a pursuit that will remain interesting into my old age.

Leave a Reply

